A Little About Me (or, On My Being Awesome)

Hello Internet,

I started a new blog just to talk about my adventures in running. I am a heavy person and I was a heavy kid who hated to run. My parents encouraged me to join cross country in school, and in the first race, I got separated from the pack of faster girls, and got lost in the woods. Didn’t want to run a whole lot after that – nope, nope, nope. Out of the blue, I started running over a year ago. Like, one day, I must have had some kind of mental divine intervention and I said, “I’m going to go buy a pair of sneakers.”  Those first few months, I ran on a treadmill at work during my lunch break. Running on the treadmill is a huge challenge for me, and since I only had an hour to gear up, work out, clean up, and get back to work, I found a lot of excuses to avoid running. In July 2013, I put on my sneakers and ran outside on a great canal trail near the Delaware River. There are markers at every half mile on the trail, so I started to feel some triumph and pride the day I ran from one marker to the next without stopping. I was also feeling like I was going to pass out, which I didn’t like so much, but the feeling of achieving that goal made up for the dizzy puke feeling. I’ve tried to run at least three times a week since then, either outdoors (which is preferred) or indoors on a treadmill (which I dread, but try to keep it fun… who am I kidding, it’s never fun – I try to keep it interesting). I’m starting my running blog after the jump, so to date, I have gotten myself set up on mapmyrun to track my mileage. I ran a 5K in Ocean City, MD on October 26, 2013 (52 min 15 sec!) My mom (I mean, Santa) bought me a new pair of bright green sneakers which I am so excited to break in! I ran a virtual half marathon in November 2013, which means I signed up for a half marathon and then ran 13.1 miles at my own pace. I split up the mileage over a few days, tracked it myself, and got a wicked medal for participating! I just ran a 5K in Mercerville, New Jersey on December 14, 2013 in a crazy snowstorm. The official times haven’t been posted yet, but I think I finished in about 50 minutes, 5 seconds, which is a great improvement from my last race, especially considering that the terrain was more difficult, (hills and ice and cars) and there was snow all on me, but more on that tomorrow. I want to sign up for another 5K soon – I hope that within the year, I’ll be able to run the whole 5K without walking. I am still getting in better shape, but I also have this weird problem with my foot falling asleep when I run…. Yeah. More on that later. I am also starting to think about training for a half marathon. I think a half marathon is the final goal for me – I’m not sure I will ever be able to run a marathon. But let’s not get too far ahead of myself… til next time, get out there and do something awesome!

Leave a Reply

