Couch to 5K

I’m starting the Couch to 5K today!

I know – you’re saying,”But Sarah, haven’t you already run slash walked two 5Ks?”

Well, yes, I have. I find myself lost without some kind of workout challenge. I have very little discipline. example of lack of discipline: I skipped running yesterday because my husband and I went to see the Hunger Games (which was awesome) and I ate Taco Bell and popcorn instead. This is not conducive to my plan, although it was fun and tasty and it has been a long time since we had a nice date night.

I have not set a weight loss or workout goal because I am trying to avoid creating a situation in which I will feel bad about myself and inevitably quit running altogether. Although I love supporting other runners and people doing positive things in their lives, I have trouble reading their before & after stories and NOT comparing myself to them. I started reading a blog yesterday and this guy, in his first post, at the beginning of his journey, he could run a twelve minute mile. I can barely get a mile in the 16 minute range. I started to feel like I’m not doing a good job, or I’ll never improve. I feel this overwhelming disappointment that I’m still not good enough, and that’s not a thought I want to let creep into my head. I want to be positive about other people’s success, but I guess I’ve had plenty of practice at beating myself up. Don’t get me wrong, I would certainly like to drop to a size 16, but I will not fall into the mindset that anything other than that is ‘not good enough.’ I refuse to fall into that trap again. I am good enough, at whatever size I am. 

Well, that sort of got away from me. Isn’t it funny how you sit down intending to write about one thing but your brain and fingers are practically compelled to work out something else? 

My goal is just to be happy, and I am happy when I set a goal and complete it. That’s how I got started running – I signed up for a 5K and realized I had better get out there and pound the pavement. I will never be fast (damn you, short legs!) and I might never be the best but at least I can be happy. 

so yeah, W1D1 of C25K after work today!

 

 

Leave a Reply

