Ready to Take on the World

Yesterday I took a break from everything. It was time for a break from running, and I felt like being a hermit, so I even took a break from the computer – no Facebook, no Twitter, no Tumblr, no blogging, no Nerd Fitness, no Youtube videos keeping me up all night. I drank my water for the day at work (+1), I ate a really healthy lunch (chicken and a veggie mix of broccoli, carrot, and some other unknown white vegetable) and I was planning to do strength training after work but I was still a little sore from the speed training on Wednesday, so I decided to give my limbs a rest.

My husband went out for dinner with a friend, so it was sort of a girl’s night in: chicken nachos and Ben & Jerry’s for dinner. Hey, I forced myself to eat a vegetable I could not identify by sight or taste at lunch, so I deserved a reward! Seriously, it was white and super-crunchy even after it had been steamed. I’m not sure I want to know exactly what it is that I ate, but I have to admit, it did not taste bad.

I got a foot massage, I finished crocheting a blanket I started last August, I ate buffalo wings. Every once in a while, you have to give yourself a break from all the things you do for other people and just do stuff for yourself. It was a super relaxing night and today I am ready to tackle all the things. Yes, all the things. I am finishing another blanket for a Christmas present! I am going to clean! I am going to run! I am going to find a copy of the book I’m supposed to read for book club on Monday! I need more hours in a day!

Leave a Reply

