and it shall be awesome and green.

I’m having a little bit of a rough day.  Did you ever have a day where you felt like you weren’t good at anything, and you’d never be everything you ever wanted to be, and you just don’t have the time and energy to focus on all the things you love and IT’S KILLING YOU?

Maybe we should focus on some of the good things that have happened lately. One of the goals of starting this blog was to avoid talking about things I wanted to do with my life and JUST DO THEM and then come here and tell you about it, so let’s focus on how awesome it is that I am actually doing that.

I have finished the second day of the third week of the Couch to 5K, which is farther than I’ve ever gotten. Is it just me, or is it kind of really hard to run the running intervals of the Couch to 5K? It was a little easier than Day 1, but I was mainly huffing and puffing while I ran in circles in our apartment complex- I spent a lot of the run wondering about the best way to breath. Should I be sucking in air like a hungry, hungry, hippo? If I don’t, I feel like my throat is too closed. Also in running news, I have been using my Garmin Forerunner 10 awesome GPS watch (that’s the official name)  on every outdoor run, and I love it. It’s really great to see my progress in almost real time. Also, it shows me that I’m probably doing better than I thought I was.

I read Caleb’s Crossing for my book club last night. I wasn’t sure I was going to like it, but it really made me want to visit Boston / Massachusetts in general. I love historically significant places and maybe one day, I’d like to live in or near a town with some kind of colonial heritage. Mmmmm, old buildings…. and possibly ghosts….

My husband and I went out with a friend to Chipotle. This was our first time eating there and the line was seriously to the door. I think that says good things about an eatery. Also, the fact that we didn’t wait too long in that line was another good sign. Also, my burrito was FANTASTIC. and huge. It was my lunch and dinner on Sunday. It’s nice to have cool people to hang out with.

I got an iPhone. Yes, I am finally caught up to the current century. I haven’t figured out all the features, but now I’m going to sign up for all sorts of social media things that I was avoiding because I thought I was holding out, or I was cooler for not getting caught up in it, or something. (Instagram, I’m looking at you – I shall conquer you next.) I like being able to look something up when I’m not near a computer and desperately need to know something. This will change my geocaching world in so many ways.

and now, for myself, a small reminder: I will stop wishing I was a photographer, or a writer, or a world traveler, or an archaeologist, or just cool, because, in some way, I am already all of these things.  I will stop relying on others to validate all of the cool things I know that I am.

Tonight, I paint.

Leave a Reply

