Maybe I should have called this “The Hungry Runner’s Blog”

Is that taken? Is it too late to switch?

I was warned by numerous running articles that running might make me hungry, and I’m here to tell you – it’s true. For instance, on Monday I went out for a run after work and didn’t feel hungry at the beginning. Halfway through my run, my stomach starts growling in a “FEED ME, SEYMOUR” kind of way. While that hunger pang might not have actually been related to the run, I’ve noticed that I am definitely hungrier in general. I’ll eat dinner and then immediately go look for something else to munch on, and I’ll admit it, it’s not always a healthy snack. I bought those cheddar flavor blasted Goldfish on a whim the other day and then proceeded to eat half the bag. At least I’m drinking more water, and my lunches were pretty healthy this week… maybe that will make up for it. *crosses fingers* I’ve got to get that more under control.

I ran another sub 15 minute mile this week during my interval runs. I haven’t been able to beat that during my Couch to 5K runs or my slow recovery runs. I know, the slow recovery runs are supposed to be slower, so I shouldn’t expect to break any land speed records. AND I think adding interval runs and strength training has been paying off – on my recovery run today, I ran the first mile in 15:56 and the second one in 18:36, according to my Garmin. My average pace for the first mile used to be in the sixteen minute range, and then the second would be closer to twenty minutes, so this is definitely an improvement! and on a day where I did not attempt to exert myself too much.

I ran on the treadmill last night. Stupid piece of machinery. I was doing the third day of week two of the Couch to 5K. It was pretty awful. My legs got tired really fast – it sort of reminded me of how my legs tire out when I run in the snow or with ice on the sidewalk. Like I’m overcompensating, trying to keep my balance, which kind of makes sense. Maybe it’s just an old, crappy, treadmill?

I painted my awesome green picture. I hung it on the wall. It makes me feel good. I’m not going to be winning any awards soon and I have a lot about technique to learn, but I am really pleased with it.

I feel bad because my husband and I were supposed to go on a hike today, but so many things piled up and I needed to do my run today, so we cancelled. I cancelled something else I wanted to do so I could go running…. I think I’ve gone to the dark side.

Leave a Reply

