Perspective

I have off today! Yay! My husband and I slept in until a respectable time, around 10 AM. I played videogames for breakfast, and then decided to head out on my run. I joined the Nerd Fitness Rebellion and I am about two weeks into the first challenge. In addition to running four times a week, I set a goal for myself to also add three strength training sessions a week. I earn points for each workout I complete. I think I did three last week? I’m not sure, I wasn’t very good about taking notes this week. I planned to do one more strength training yesterday to finish up week two (just in case I didn’t do three sessions) but my sister came to visit, and we started playing board games, and then I had a margarita, and I decided lifting weights was a bad idea, so I skipped it. and I don’t care.

I screwed up. I won’t earn the points for the missed workout. At the beginning of the challenge, I was completely gung-ho about DOING ALL THE WORKOUTS. Even though I wasn’t comparing myself to anyone else, in the back of my head, I wanted to win. I wanted to be perfect. I struggle with trying to be perfect, trying to succeed at everything – trying too hard has never gotten me anywhere, and of course, it’s a goal I will never attain. I’m realistic about it – I know it’s not possible, but I want it anyway.¬† I’ve spent many years beating myself up for not being right, or good, or perfect, or the best.

So I’m choosing to view this skipped workout as a blessing. I’m not going to beat myself up for not completely attaining my workout goal when I actually sort of leveled-up on social, family, and fun goals. I’ve been thinking about this being one of my unofficial side-quests during my challenge; not succeeding at something. Well, yay! I have succeeded at… failing! and the world didn’t end! I have unlocked the Doomsday trophy.

After a nice, relaxing morning, I laced up my sneakers for my Monday run. I was fully expecting it to be brisk and biting and ugly cold, so I bundled up especially warm… and halfway through my run I wanted desperately to strip down to my t-shirt. It is unseasonably warm for New Jersey in January.

I started the third week of the Couch to 5K today! I was hoping to run at least a mile and a half, and I ran more like a mile and three quarters, so that’s awesome! Both my feet started falling asleep today, which is SO WEIRD because it hasn’t happened in a few weeks. I didn’t really stretch well before I ran today, maybe I tied my shoes too tight… I’ll try stretching more often this week (before and after runs) and see if that makes a difference.

Leave a Reply

