I feel like I should be writing right now

but I’m not sure I have anything interesting to say.

[January 28] I’ve had to take off three days from my running to let my knee fully recuperate. THREE DAYS! In runner’s time, this is basically forever. PEOPLE RUN MARATHONS IN LESS TIME THAN THAT and I’ve just been sitting on the couch. I feel like I am right back where I started. I’m slightly convinced that all of the progress I’ve made over the past 6 months has totally reversed itself. Like the time I was writing a 10 page paper in college and I accidentally kicked the cord out of my computer and it shut down. AND I HADN’T SAVED. and it was losit forever. All that work
gone, and I have to do it over again. (and you know, it’s just never going to be as good as it was the first time around.) I can’t wait to get back into my routine!

[January 29] I started this post yesterday and planned to finish it up after my run last night, but there was a problem with my car when I was leaving the gym, and it had to be towed. I’m hoping it’s not super expensive! I know that’s what our savings are for, but it still freaks me out a little! My husband and I are carpooling back and forth to work until we find out what’s wrong with it. What was I saying about getting back into my routine?  I spoke too soon!

oh, hey, in other news, my blog is over a month old!

2 thoughts on “I feel like I should be writing right now

  1. My son had to take two months off due to a knee injury but he did other exercises that didn’t stress his knee, recuperated well and ran his marathon a month later without any problems. Your progress will not totally disappear, just don’t stress that knee when you do go back to running by overdoing it.

    • Wow, he ran a marathon after taking off two months? That’s really awesome and inspiring. Glad to hear he didn’t have any trouble with it – I’m sure it would have been disappointing to miss it because of an injury. I’ll definitely try to take it easy on my first few runs until I see how everything feels.

Leave a Reply

