Finally Starting to Feel Better

I am pleased to report that I am feeling much better right now. My cold had progressed into some sort of sinus infection, and then onto headache and body aches. I kept attacking it with medicine, sleep, and water, and they have seemed to knock it down a bit. I went into work today feeling terrible, but I absolutely had to get something done. My co-workers kept telling me to go home, so finally I caved and took their good advice. My husband was really sweet and brought me all sorts of get-better goodies when he got home – he gave me a neck massage which I think really did the trick. 

Feeling better and craving some exercise, I pulled out our stationary bike and biked 15 miles. I can tell I’ve lost some weight from running because I am more comfortable on the bike than I used to be. Seriously, fifteen miles? I almost couldn’t believe it. I can’t wait for warm weather when I can actually get on a real bike and ride with the wind whipping in my hair!

I also did some upper body strength work with adjustable dumbbells. I have absolutely no upper body strength. Like, none. I can barely do a pushup. I’d love to be able to do a pull-up one day. So, I’ve been trying to figure out – should I add more weight to the dumbbell and just do as many reps as I can, or should I leave them lighter and just do a bunch of easier reps? I’ve been reading that one way adds more bulk, while the other adds more strength, but honestly, some of the articles I’ve read don’t quite seem to agree on which way does what. I added 5 pounds to each dumbbell….well, they claim to be 5 pounds, but they are definitely heavier than that. Those weights are liars. A gallon of milk is lighter, and those suckers weigh like, 8 pounds.

2 thoughts on “Finally Starting to Feel Better

Leave a Reply

