Winter Storm Hype (ALSO, C25K WEEK 5, DAY 3 – DONE!)

So here in New Jersey, we were told to get ready for the storm to end all storms (actually, if this were the last storm this season, I’d be ok with that) – Winter Storm Titan, which I am renaming Winter Storm Hype. They were predicting 12+ inches of snow, or maybe ice, or maybe rain. Either way, it was supposed to suck a lot.

This morning I wake up to find that work has been cancelled. My husband has a delayed opening, so he still has to go in at 10 AM, but I figured if it was really bad outside, they would just close for the rest of the day.

I didn’t even take a look outside until around noon and saw…. um… nothing. Like an inch of snow. A dusting. I think the Midwest got hit worse than us, but they had us all freaked out and annoyed about more snow! In my last post, I decided to attack this snow day with positivity instead of aggravation, and I’m glad I did, because it turned out to be totally awesome. I woke up, ate breakfast, and played videogames for about half an hour before falling asleep on the couch for 4 hours. Got up around 12:30 PM, had a snack, and looks out the window. That’s when I decided to go for a run.

Week 5, Day 3 – the first long run. Twenty straight minutes – I can’t tell you how intimidating it looked on paper. Wait, you already know, you’ve read all my posts about how nervous I was! and if you haven’t read my previous posts, I was just on this side of freaking out. 

I made a killer running playlist to accompany me on my journey. I put on my GPS watch and one of my new buffs (thanks, dear!) I decided to ignore my watch as much as possible to avoid the stress of obsessing over how much longer I was going to have to run. I focused on the music and went out at a really slow pace – like…. really slow. Slightly faster than walking. I’m guessing somewhere around a 17 minute mile. I didn’t pay attention. I haven’t even loaded the stats online yet to analyze them.

It was really a comfortable pace and I stopped paying attention to my breathing or my form and trusted myself to do all of those things right, and just ran. It was kind of awesome! I might actually pull this off! I tried to go at least two songs before checking my watch. I had a five minute warmup walk, which I also timed, so the first time I looked at my watch, I was already twelve minutes into the twenty minute portion of the run. What!?  It was that point when I really knew I could do this. I checked my watch a few more times, but really, just gauged it by the length of the songs. When I hit the end of my twenty minute run, there was a really good song on my playlist… so I kept running. and when I was done and heading home and had stopped the timer on my watch, more good songs came on, so I turned the GPS watch back on and started running again. I estimate the distance covered altogether was between 1.5 & 2 miles. (I’m secretly hoping it was closer to 2.)

I don’t like sounding gloat-y but I’m really impressed – I bet I could do it faster!

Thanks to you guys who told me I could do it – I’m sure the positive attitude you guys gave me was a benefit.

BTW when tagging this blog, I wrote Cough to 5K by accident. Surprisingly accurate considering my cold this week!

2 thoughts on “Winter Storm Hype (ALSO, C25K WEEK 5, DAY 3 – DONE!)

Leave a Reply

