Awesome Monday for a Run

Yes, it’s actually Thursday, but this is about my run on Monday because the weather was absolutely beautiful early this week. Such a tease! It’s completely frigid here today, and early weather reports were actually calling for more snow. NO, THANK YOU.

So I took advantage of the amazing weather and ran some speed intervals on Monday. I changed up my routine a little bit: after a warm-up walk, I ran at a comfortable pace for 1/4 mile. I also created a “track” on the sidewalks around my apartment complex – I found a loop that is almost exactly 1/4 mile from start to finish! Why am I so excited about that? Oh, because I’m a running nerd. 

So once around the “track” at my normal pace, then I tried to pick it up so a comfortably fast pace for a little bit. Then I sped up to a really hard effort, then tried to slow back down to the comfortably fast pace, then back to normal pace. That took me around the track three times, so I took one last loop, alternating walking 15 seconds & sprinting 15 seconds, just trying to push my lungs and legs out of their comfort zone. I haven’t uploaded my GPS watch data yet (it’s been a busy week), so I’m not sure how far or how fast I actually went. I think it was only about a mile total, but I thought it was good to try to push myself faster than normal. Although I’ve been adding on a lot of distance to my runs, I really haven’t been getting much faster. I think I’m not really focusing on actually trying to run faster – I think I’m just expecting it to happen as I get stronger. Then again, I’m not sure I’m actually getting stronger, as proven by my failure of a C25K run (more on that later.)

It was so nice outside though, perfect day for a run! Toward the end, I just wanted to take my jacket off and run in just my t-shirt. I never love warm weather more than at the tail end of winter, when it’s grip on us is slipping and the gray skies start to turn blue. 

One thought on “Awesome Monday for a Run

Leave a Reply

