I realized something awesome

I haven’t been very motivated to go out for a run lately- the temperature dropped and layers are required for outdoor activity. This does not make me happy. Winter… Why so we keep meeting like this? It’s not me, it’s you. Go away now.

I went out on Sunday for my long run, trying to remember to focus on the distance, not the speed. My long runs have been around 1.75 – 2 miles long and I’m ready to take it to the next level and add some distance, so now I’ll be aiming for about 2.5 miles. Lots of streets, sidewalks, and suburban neighborhoods to explore! I love running trails but I’m cultivating an appreciation for street running.

I can cover a lot more distance now without having to slow down to walk. I only had to stop completely to wait for traffic so I could cross the street and once to stretch my feet, and only took like three-four walk breaks. And during a 2.5 mile outing … that’s pretty awesome improvement. I talked out loud to myself, encouraging my feet to keep moving. All in all, it was about a 45 minute run – I don’t know the exact distance or time.

The awesome thing I realized is that I barely walked. When I stopped to walk, I started running again in less than a minute. I ran for most of my 45 minutes! It’s cool that I challenged myself I run faster and found that I could do it, and it wasn’t impossible. Sometimes I think that I’m so out of shape, that I can’t go farther or faster, or that I have to do the easy version of a workout instead of the hard one, but we deserve more credit than we give ourselves sometimes. Guess I’m not so out of shape.
It’s awesome when I surprise myself!

So friends, what’s your favorite running location? Street, trail, track, treadmill, something else? All of the above? Wherever your feet can hit the ground?

5 thoughts on “I realized something awesome

  1. Good for you!! It’s the best feeling to see we are making progress!
    I love running in the street, fresh air, people around… to think that not long ago the treadmill was my favorite seems crazy!

  2. I love running around the National Mall and the Tidal Basin down here in DC. You see so many other runners, walkers, dogs, etc of all skill levels, its a nice support system!

    • Hi! Thanks for stopping by & commenting! There’s a great trail here on the canal path along the Delaware River that’s really similar; lots of runners & walkers, and most people at least give you a smile and a hello.
      I bet your running spot is tough to navigate when you have to deal with TONS of tourists.

  3. I always run outside. When I first started running, I thought about buying a gym membership so that I could use a treadmill in the winter, but I’m glad I decided against it. My favourite place is the seafront or the park – basically anywhere I don’t have to stop to cross the road!
    Sounds like you’re making great progress. Here’s hoping for some warmer weather soon. 😉

Leave a Reply

