Couch to 5K, Week 6 – all done!

I was planning to run the day after my slow recovery run. I try to mix up the runs so I don’t do the same thing twice in a row – intervals and higher intensity runs are once a week, just like long runs. I round out the week with a few runs of whatever is next in the Couch to 5K. I had already done the speed intervals earlier in the week so it was time for another C25K run – 22 minutes, no walking. so… another long, slow run. So much for mixing it up!

I didn’t do the whole five minute warmup walk – I totally forgot. I was walking around, waiting for my GPS watch to find me in the world, and then it chirped that it was ready! and I was so excited that I hit start and ran. So around minute 11 when the bottom of my foot started to hurt, I figured my poor warmup might be to blame… also I’ve sort of fallen behind with my foot stretches. I paused for a little bit to stretch and then picked it up again. I’m surprised at how easy the run was overall. I ran at a comfortably hard pace – a little faster than my normal “slow run” pace, so it didn’t seem too easy at the time but within a few minutes of finishing, I had my breath back and my legs weren’t sore.  According to my GPS watch, my pace was similar to other Couch to 5K runs. Well, this is good news at least – I can keep up my normal pace on a longer run.

I think I’m going to start going out for much longer runs soon – I am looking forward to coming home and saying, “I ran three miles today!”. Having warmer weather won’t hurt, either! The rest of the C25K is all long runs, and I admit that I will miss the running/walking a little. I’ll probably be done with the whole thing before May . Oh dear, what will I do then?

and on the nutrition front: I’ve been using the MyFitnessPal app for iPhone, and I like it much better than the computer version. It’s so much faster and I like that it can add your food just by taking a picture of the UPC code. It’s been sort of helping me figure out my meals this week. It’s a little scary to realize how many calories are in some of our meals – like, we think we’re doing so good but when I actually calculate it… yikes! At the suggestion of a friend, I tried Yoplait Greek yogurt and am totally hooked.  I’m trying to eat salad and drink water every day sort of as diet filler but it’s taking some getting used to. Another friend suggested meals based on lima beans… sorry, but I don’t think I can go that far. When I was a kid, my parents never made me eat any vegetables that they didn’t like, so I was never forced to eat lima beans. (Thanks, Mom!)

So what’s your favorite veggie? For me, it’s green beans – I could seriously eat them with dinner every night.  Least favorite veggie? Out of the ones I’ll actually eat, it’s broccoli. Broccoli and me, we’re working on our relationship, but it’s not easy.

2 thoughts on “Couch to 5K, Week 6 – all done!

  1. I also love the MyFitnessPal app for Iphone/Ipad much better than the computer, I never use it in my computer because of that.
    Trust me you won’t miss the running/walking! 🙂
    I love asparagus.. and mushrooms.

Leave a Reply

