The Awesome Runner and the Blustery Day

I’ve been behind in blogging and reading blogs lately because I’ve been distracted by life. My final exam is tomorrow (by the time this gets posted, that will be yesterday) so I’ve been studying a lot, and we’ve been seeing friends and spending time away from the computer screen.

I’m still managing all my runs, maybe not as well as I was in the beginning if the year. I was sticking to a schedule of four runs per week + strength training. I pretty much quit doing and and all strength training for the past two weeks, but I think about new things to try all the time. (that makes up for it, right?) After my final tomorrow, I should have more free time, and if this weather would just cooperate! we’d be back in business.

It was cold and windy yesterday. I had a meeting after work but had some free time in between, so I went to a nearby canal for a run. running on the canal

Normally this place is hopping, but it was SO COLD AND WINDY yesterday that I was the only crazy one out there. It was speed interval day, and I wanted to add some hill running and footwork drills, but as you can see from the picture, it’s nice and flat. I found some stairs and a wheelchair ramp up to the canal from a parking lot, so I ran in circles around them for a bit. The wind was really kicking – I was pretty sure it might actually blow me into the water.  I ran into the wind out and had the wind at my heels on my way back to the car. It was kind of exhilarating… if you think of your eyes drying out when you think of exhilaration. You know what it’s like, your eyes tearing up and the tears drying against the corner of your eyes.. you know what I’m talking about!

So runners, specifically lady runners, or generally runners with long hair: how do you take care of your hair? I’ve got really thick hair, so if I wash it every day, it will honestly never fully dry, and I have to use a moisturizing shampoo and conditioner because it’s also really dry. Running is not making my hair play nice – it is like, totally drying out my scalp. Although my hair has never been smooth and shiny, it has never felt so uncomfortably dry and damaged. I shower after my runs, but I alternate washing my hair with the shampoo and conditioner, just sort of rinsing it, or not washing it at all. Maybe I need to switch to a new type of shampoo/conditioner? Maybe I just need a haircut

 

Leave a Reply

