Still Recovering from Mudderella

Here are some fun tidbits, little things I learned about how to prepare for Mudderella and maybe mud runs in general.

WEAR LONG PANTS. You think you’re just crawling through soft, slippery mud? NOPE. I have scratches all up and down my legs from random sticks and rocks. 

WEAR GOOD SOCKS. My socks started slowly creeping down under my feet, back into my shoes as I walked around the Mudderella tents before the run even started, and I was kicking myself for not wearing the knee socks. I knew it was going to be a problem – yep, after like five minutes of tromping through the mud, my socks were completely gone and my ankles were rubbing against the back of my ratty, old sneakers. It was actually impossible to get my shoes off to fix the socks- mud had created like a suction vacuum around my feet, trapping them inside my shoes for the next three hours. Oh, I was bleeding by the end, and it’s going to take some time to heal. In the meantime, I can’t really run (or climb stairs) without ripping up my ankles so I’m taking some time off. 

MAYBE WEAR GLOVES. Like those fingerless weight lifter gloves or something. My hands were pretty sore on Saturday, and many of the obstacles started to get kind of slippery, especially the ropes. 

If you’re going to clean up and change at the event location, BRING A PLASTIC BAG for your dirty disgusting clothes. I forgot to do this, but found an extra one inside the changing tent (yay!) Also, I don’t know what the cleaning/ changing situation is for other mud runs, but there was just one big empty tent for the women to change in, and it was disgustingly hot inside. Seriously, no privacy, so BRING A TOWEL so you can try to cover up while you peel off your muddy clothes, but most likely, you’re so anxious to get cleaned up and you really aren’t looking at anyone so you don’t so much care about propriety.

TRAIN. Seriously, even though they say they design it for women of all athletic types, it’s not easy, and if you want to do a majority of the obstacles, you need upper body strength. There was one obstacle with a large pipe leading down into a watery pit and then a large pipe leading up out of it, so you slide down one pipe and then you have to crawl up the other. The water tried to suck me backwards and my feet just slid all over so I had to lay on my side and basically do crunches to wiggle my way up and out. It was a five mile course overall, with crazy hills all over the place. My arms and abs were in SO MUCH PAIN on Sunday, like, “I can’t lift myself up from laying down” and “it hurts to sneeze” kind of pain. My legs don’t hurt at all – I was even running most of the time between obstacles (especially up the hills… can’t miss an opportunity to do hill work!) so that’s awesome. 

I had written a very long paragraph on all the things I didn’t like about Mudderella here, and then read it over and remembered what my sister said when I told her I was nervous it wouldn’t be fun if I went by myself. She said, “It is what you make it.” Keeping that in mind, I’ll say it was an intense challenge and a great workout and I’m so proud of myself for doing something scary on my own and facing a few fears.

11 thoughts on “Still Recovering from Mudderella

  1. All very good tips. The only two mud runs I’ve done that required changing afterwards (the one one the beach doesn’t really count since it was just sand, not mud) had those awful gigantic, one-room tents, too. And they get SO hot inside of them in the summer.

Leave a Reply

