Heels not Healing (and a Very Embarrassing Story)

Even though Mudderella was over a week ago, it has been the gift that keeps on giving as my ankles, all torn up and raw from rubbing against wet muddy sneakers, still haven’t healed. It’s been painful to wear any shoes that cover my heel for a long period of time- even with socks on, they rub against my heel and it starts to hurt after a while. I’ve been wearing Birkenstock sandals to work, and thank God, no one has given me any crap about it. They are slightly dressy so I think I can sort of get away with it for awhile…. well, dressy for Birkenstocks.

I ran a pseudo-tempo run on the treadmill yesterday (or at least we worked on maintaining pace yesterday) but I’ve been hesitant to run any more than that. I’ve turned to Youtube and workout videos for short strength training sessions or cardio workouts I can do in my living room without shoes. I did the Biggest Loser Calorie Knockout DVD, and my two favorite Youtube channels so far have been Blogilates and XHIT Daily.  LOTS of short videos (5 – 15 minutes) on tons of different topics. I like to string a bunch of videos together that focus on the same area. I do kind of roll my eyes at some of the frou-frou video names, like “Muffin-top Melter”, but they keep you engaged in the video and focused even though it’s so quick. Yesterday we did abs and I’m sure I hit my 100 crunches!

Having these “side” quests or extra challenges has been helpful during this time when I’m not running as much – I can still be focused on doing SOMETHING and feeling like I’m not losing too much fitness.

Treadmill “tempo” run – I ran for four minutes and walked one, alternating between 3.5 and 4 mph. Normally I run faster than that outside but it’s tough to keep it up on the treadmill. I was sweating by the end – can’t tell if it was from effort or heat. They really need a fan in there! Only 1.1 miles, 20 minutes. It’s getting easier mentally to get to the 1 mile mark during a run, but now I need to work on pushing past that to 2 miles. Once I get to the mile and it’s already been like 15-17 minutes, I know it will take so much longer to do another mile and I think it just gets me down. Just gotta keep at it, I guess.

And now for the most embarrassing story of the week: There was someone else in the gym doing a circuit workout, hopping back and forth between different weight-lifting machines while I ran on the treadmill. He walks to the machine right behind me… and I suddenly realize I am going to fart, and I start thinking, “Oh God, Sarah, please don’t fart on the Chief of Police, please don’t fart on the Chief of Police.” That was my running mantra for the few most awful and hilarious seconds of my life where I thought I might actually fall down from the effort of holding in a fart. Finally he walks away. and I learn another of the downsides of running on a treadmill: I can’t run away from the fart.

Hope you all are having a good week – here in our house, we are celebrating because the husband got a new job! He works in shipping right now, and will be moving to a new company as the receiving coordinator. Same world, different hat. I’m so happy he gets to learn something new and meet new people!

Leave a Reply

