Juneathon Day 11: The Obstacle Course

Safety Stand Down day was yesterday, and I’m a little late in blogging, but I was able to join in! I put on someone else’s gear (pants, boots, jacket, and helmet) and crawled over and under benches, breached a wall, and crawled through a course of wires designed to mimic a possible entanglement. I had it a little easier than everyone else- I wasn’t allowed to wear the whole mask piece and SCBA tank, which adds at least 50 pounds to the already-heavy coat and pants. Not because I couldn’t, but because it wasn’t my gear and it was sort of an insurance risk. I know that the reason we train is so we’ll be ready if we’re ever put in a really deadly situation, so it’s really important and serious, but I still got a kick out of it. I never realized how difficult it is to move in all that gear – Like you’re wading through pudding. Not that I’ve ever waded through pudding……mmmm, pudding. But anyway. When you’re on your back or side, you’re really like a turtle on it’s back trying to get the momentum to roll back onto your hands and knees. At least, I definitely felt like a turtle. 

Later on, my husband and I went to the mall and walked around quite a bit. We bought crazy awesome things like pants! scented candles! and tank tops! Wild, I know. So that was pretty much my workout for the day. I’m not sure what I’m going to be able to do today, I have a LOT on my plate tonight and I really just don’t feel like sweating today!

 

Leave a Reply

