One of those days

I’ve sort of taken a break from my running plan, and kind of a break from running in general. We’ve been super busy with house stuff, but that’s kind of just an excuse. I’m still bummed that I’ve made pretty much no progress in the past year. Right now, I’m still on track to run the Ocean City 5K in the same amount of time I ran it last year… or longer, which doesn’t make me happy at all.

I ran this race last year in 52:15, then I ran the Mercerville Mistletoe 5K in 50:18. Then there was the Dash for Duchenne 5K, 50:29. I also ran a Color Run that wasn’t really timed. I am using this race as a benchmark of progress, which maybe isn’t really fair, because some days you have awesome runs, and some days, you just want to lay down on the side of the road. I can assume that this kind of thing happens for seasoned runners – you fall into a groove based on your fitness level and ability and how hard you train and you probably don’t see a lot of variance in race times. I was expecting that, since I was just starting, I would lose weight and get stronger and get faster the more I ran but it is not working that way at all and it is really discouraging. I feel like I can do better, I can do so much more, so it’s so frustrating that it’s not happening. I do not like to be told “NO.” I skipped my scheduled run yesterday because I just really didn’t want to disappoint myself and thinking about how long it will take and how difficult it will be to try to run a straight mile without stopping really overwhelmed me. I let it get the better of me.

Don’t we all have these days? One of those days where running won’t make it better because running is the problem. I plan to go run tonight, to just start from whatever day I was on in the running plan and make the best of it.

Do you ever have days where it just seems like it’s not fun? Do you ever take a break when you’re having a rough day?

8 thoughts on “One of those days

  1. Be good to yourself and enjoy that break. Moving is tough.

    I’m not sure if I would’ve stuck with running had I worn those speed/mileage tracking gadget thingies because numbers can be so discouraging. This book called Running with the Mind of Meditation said it takes at least two years to fully condition the body for running and that was definitely my experience, probably even longer. Don’t give up! Keep setting goals and going for them. Your speed will improve. You’re doing awesome.

      • Here we go!: What I Talk About When I Talk About Running by Haruki Murakami, Born to Run by Christopher McDougall, Running with the Mind of Meditation by Sakyong Mipham, Eat & Run by Scott Jurek, I didn’t really like Running like a Girl, but lots of people do, First Marathons (essays) and Dean Karnazes books are entertaining. All these books have interesting points of view, relatable stories and useful tips. Hope you find one you like!

  2. Totally agree with HC’s comment. Running is definitely NOT always fun, but the fun thing is just getting out there and actually being say I stuck to my plan. I’m a firm believer in positive thinking and running with a positive mantra in my head. Keep going, you have come so far! Lean on the fence for a moment and be proud of yourself! 🙂

  3. I think we all get like that sometimes. For me, the best thing is to have a break and then, for the next run, just forget about time and pace and distance and have some fun.
    Also, it might be worth tweaking your training plan. Doing some shorter faster sessions to work on speed and maybe cutting down on the number of running days per week to give yourself more time to recover can really help sometimes.
    Anyway, whatever you do, I’m sure you’ll be back on track soon enough. Best of luck for the 5K! 🙂

    • I agree- sometimes I get so focused on the numbers that I get distracted from loving running. I need to find a track or something with marked distances so I can just go enjoy a run or work on speed without checking my watch for time intervals.

Leave a Reply

