Seaside 10 miler/ 5K Goals Have Changed Drastically

The Seaside 10 miler/5K is this Saturday in Ocean City! I’m doing the 5K (obvs) with Gary and my Aunt Kara. I am so excited they signed up for this with me! Kara has been training like crazy, but Gary and my training got knocked off track a few weeks ago when we started buying our house. I haven’t actually run in a few weeks, although last week I mowed the grass for the first time with our self-propelled lawn mower, and chased it up a few hills in the back yard for some short hill sprints.

I’ve been dreading this 5K for a while because I wanted to run it faster than I did last year. It was my first 5K, and I’d hoped that the year of training since then had made me slightly more athletic. Honestly, I’ve gained muscle and weight. Haven’t lost a pound, haven’t really gotten any faster. I am able to run for much longer, though. I remember my first few times out running at the apartments when I would say, Ok, run to that tree. Now I can run circles around that tree! I’ll be running to a tree so far away I can’t even see it when I start running. It might take me half an hour though.

I have been talking to my Aunt Kara about the 5K. She found a great training plan that works for her (1 minute run, 1 minute walk) and she was wondering what my plan is, if she’s going to be able to keep up with me. It got me actually thinking about my plan, because I totally don’t have one anymore. I have been obsessed with getting a PR… but then I came to a realization. My husband and aunt signed up for this race with me. I will probably have more fun if I just hang out with them and stop worrying about my time. My parents & Gary’s mom are also coming down to watch us run!

OK, now I need your help with something: there is no safe option for running in the dark at the new house – it’s a very woodsy road and there are no sidewalks or shoulder. I would rather not run on a treadmill because it just flat out bores me. Any ideas about places I might go to run after work now that winter is setting in and it’s getting darker? I’m going to try to incorporate more strength training but I just really want to run. There are some schools around so I will try to inquire about running on their tracks. Otherwise I’ll be going back to the apartments to run on their sidewalks!

5 thoughts on “Seaside 10 miler/ 5K Goals Have Changed Drastically

  1. Having fun and hanging out with your husband and aunt sounds like a great race plan. 🙂
    Not sure about where to run safely though as I’d definitely avoid the woods in the dark. If the roads aren’t too busy, then you could run on them with a head torch and plenty of hi-vis gear and maybe persuade your husband or someone to run with you so that you’re not on your own?

    • The roads aren’t too busy but the drivers here are sort of scary, but there are some neighborhoods nearby that I can look into. And it sounds like I need to get some hi-vis gear!

  2. I agree about the treadmill. I run out in the country in the total dark during winter. I have a head torch, flashing arm band, hi-vis reflector gear and a little clip on light that bush walkers use. As long as the area is free of nasty people, running at night with the right gear is safe – at least that’s been my experience.

Leave a Reply

