IT IS SUPER COLD OUTSIDE

It’s been SUPER COLD in the northeast the last few days. Thank God we have the treadmill, or I wouldn’t be doing anything! Gary and I have been trading off time on the treadmill. I am pleased to announce I am now 10.25 / 458 miles on the way to Rivendell. It’s sort of frustrating being so slow, because I really want to get there faster! I would love to log like, 4 miles a day, but I would have to set aside like an hour and a half, and that’s just not in the time budget. Outside, changing speeds when I feel like it, I can run a 15 minute mile, but it’s way different on the treadmill. I’ve been logging more like 19- 20 minute miles, but I think it’s my own fault – I have a tough time gauging what speeds I’m capable of so I just usually hit either 2.5 mph – 3 mph for the walking bits and 4 mph for running. Awesomely enough, 4 mph used to be hard for me when I’d run on the treadmill at work, but now I can push it up to 4.5 comfortably and even 5 miles when I did a ladder workout two weeks ago. I am trying to get used to changing it up based on how I feel.

I bought a new running app – Zombies, Run! I know, I’m a little late to the game, but I really struggle with spending money on ANYTHING for my phone. I found one majorly awesome thing about it and some slightly not-so-awesome things. First, the not-so-awesome – between the bits of dialogue, there is a lot of silence where they play music from your phone. It’s not-so-awesome if you don’t have music on your phone, because then you’ve got like three minutes of complete silence. I wish there was some generic rock music track – I don’t think my old iPhone has enough space on it to put music! I believe I can plug in an iPod to the treadmill to play music, so that might be a good work-around. Also slightly inconvenient: if you’re running on a treadmill, it doesn’t keep track of your distance, even if you set it to count your paces or tell it what speed you’re running. I can enter it manually on the website, but I have to be on a computer to do it – can’t do it on my phone.

Now for the majorly awesome- while I’m listening to the dialogue, I’m not paying any attention to the time ticking slowly by on the treadmill display. I’m not waiting anxiously to see the tenths of a mile tick away slower and slower. I can just run. It’s the first time I can just run and have fun on a treadmill!

I am not sure we are still doing the fitness challenge at work – we were supposed to start a biggest loser challenge. The person organizing it sort of neglected to tell me that the buy-in changed, and one of our co-workers recently experienced an awful tragedy, so I kind of want to put any money I can toward helping them. Although I can see that everyone is making changes, sort of like that one episode of The Office where each branch was competing against the others in a weight-loss challenge… people are eating healthier, working out more… it’s unnatural.

I’m starting another six-week challenge on Nerd Fitness. My goals are: BE MORE CONSISTENT, STAY HYDRATED, WALK/RUN TO MORDOR, and FINISH WINTER PROJECTS. More on this to follow.

One thought on “IT IS SUPER COLD OUTSIDE

  1. I feel for you having to run on the treadmill! It’s the opposite here today, just boiling. I know what you mean about wanting to stay hydrated – it should be the easiest thing ever but somehow it’s so difficult! All the best to smashing your goals!

Leave a Reply

