Ticking away the miles

The treadmill is a blessed creation.

Wait, did I say that?

I never thought I’d be singing the praises of the dreaded treadmill, but it’s pulled me out of my no-workout rut. My relationship with running became complicated after we moved. The extra time required to go for a run started to be difficult to manage, but I still felt guilty about not going for a run. All these feelings whirled around in a big, black cloud. Running was a task, not a treat.

Glad to say that the weather has not gotten the best of me this time around! Gary brought home my new best friend… Satan’s conveyor belt! Well, not today, Satan. I’m going to embrace the dreadmill.

I’ve been logging miles all over the place! Some of them were supposed to be simple walks on the treadmill but I felt the need… for speed. Do I hear Highway to the Danger Zone? Oh, the radio is on and that actual song is playing right now, so, yes.

Today I actually logged two runs. I was supposed to run yesterday but it was cold and I cuddled under a blanket on the couch and it was all over. I woke up earlier this morning to log a mile (1.5 minutes running, 3.5 minutes walking five times, although it’s now just occurred to me that I only did it four times, and not even four times because I just flat out stopped when I hit the mile), and then my husband and I just spent some time in our basement gym; I, on the treadmill and he going back and forth from the bike to the elliptical.

I combined two of my running programs tonight – Zombies, Run! and the Run the Edge running start plan (level 2!). The Run the Edge workout kicked off with a ten minute run. Um…. It’s been a really long time since I ran that long without walk breaks. I took one look at that and said, NOPE! However, I started my mission and there were Zombies everywhere and I started running and decided to just go for the whole ten minutes! I was trying to stay positive around minute 4, got another boost of positivity around minute 6, and tried to hold on for dear life from minute 8 on. After that it was a five minute walk break and another five minute run. It was seriously tough. The only thing that kept me from quitting was not wanting to quit. Sounds silly, but that’s the simplest breakdown of my reasoning. So, I didn’t quit.

After the run, I did a strength workout – the Hero Workout, Day 2. About a week after Day 1, but I needed that much time to recover! It’s a killer leg workout… this workout also included some jab-type punches, and it was fun! My brain is slowly deteriorating as it’s late, and I woke up early, and I’m licking hummus off my fingers because I need protein, so I’m off to bed.

One thought on “Ticking away the miles

Leave a Reply

