New Goals

My six week challenge just finished up and we are in the “INTERIM TIME” between the next challenge. This is probably a really popular time to slide all the way back to start, so there’s an interim challenge that made us think about our habits, our goals, and how we keep it up (or IF we keep it up) during the break.

Lately I’ve been drinking a lot more water, and that’s been a really easy habit to keep up once I got into it. I’ve also made a habit of running more often – at least four times a week. My mileage has jumped from maybe four miles to more like ten miles a week. I know it seems like a big jump, but I think I was only doing four miles when I was capable of doing much more. (just being a little whiny & lazy!)

So far, this is the first time I’ve made it all the way through a challenge and can jump right into the next one, so I am anticipating that it’s going to be really easy to keep it up. Having accountability helps a lot, and I’ve been on my game more so because I’ve been logging everything there. I’ve been ignoring this blog a bit, so I’m going to make it a point to post here every time I post there. Rest days usually turn into rest weeks for me, too, so I’m just not going to slow down!

Since my goals in the last challenge seemed really good for me, I’m going to try to keep them up. I want to start adding strength training back into my routine, and I am almost done with my running plan- just about ready to graduate to the next one! Luckily, there’s a series so I can keep going with this momentum. The first plan (the one I’m on) is a general running plan, to get you running thirty minutes. Then there’s a 5K plan, then a 10K plan, then a half marathon, then a full marathon, which I think will keep me busy for the next few years. Still trying to figure out a third goal. The next few weeks are going to be busy with spring plans and I don’t want to overload myself.

Last night I went for a run after two days of being too busy to hop on the treadmill. The next run was supposed to be 25 minutes, but as soon as I started running, I could tell that I was sort of off my game, like feeling disjointed almost. I aimed for fifteen minutes at 4 MPH. That was tough but doable.

It also occurred to me that I need to start running outside, because I’ve got that 5K coming up and I’d like to not fall on my face at the first hill.

2 thoughts on “New Goals

Leave a Reply

