Hard Cider Run

The Hard Cider 5K was on Saturday, May 9… it was RIDICULOUS! Not super hot at first, but definitely muggy, and when the sun came out it was a bit overbearing.  It was really overcast when we got there, so of course I went without the sunscreen. I got a little sunkissed (read: sunburned).

The race was a great idea. Run through the orchard and fields of a vineyard and then hang out and drink hard cider afterwards. Oy vey, the paths through the fields were steep! Up and down, up and down, but way too steep to run up or down! The paths through the trees were dug out with big gouges by tractor tires and there were tree branches all over, so mini-obstacle course! Seriously, everyone was walking, trudging along together like ants marching in the heat.

There was also a herd of deer that was spooked by all the runners and didn’t know where to go, so they ran right through the race. Seeing a deer hurtling toward you at like forty miles an hour is really scary. (they run that fast, right?) Seriously, it almost hit me, I looked up at the right time and stopped running and it passed like three feet in front of me. I could have died, which is pretty scary.  I should probably thank my guardian angel that I stopped running when I did. I think they maybe should have checked the course out before starting the runners. Heart racing? Check!

The lines for everything were super long – registration, bathrooms, the free cider afterwards. There were like 900 people, so I guess that’s fair.

I managed a time of 1:00:52, which wasn’t half bad considering how much I slogged and how little I ran. My friend Carrie ran with me, and I felt bad because she was clearly faster but she kept hanging around or coming back for me. I think that was really nice, but at the same time, I want people running races with me to challenge themselves and try to do a good job. It was her first 5K and wouldn’t it have been nice to get a really awesome PR? She did keep saying that it didn’t matter how long it took for her, it was all going to be a PR!

The BEST part of the whole thing was at the end when you cross the finish line, there are people there handing out medals. I got a medal!!! I wore it all day. I wore it to Mother’s Day dinner with my grandmother. Seriously, they’re so inexpensive, why don’t more 5Ks hand out medals?

I went for a run with my sister on Sunday- it was super hot but we did a lot of walking and talking, “wogging” is what my family calls it. I think she’ll be ready to do the 5K in October! She said her only goal is to keep up with me, and I think she’ll be just fine! (She has since picked out a color run to do in June… yay! our first 5K!)

2 thoughts on “Hard Cider Run

Leave a Reply

