Something awesome happened

I’ve been radio silent for a while, mostly because I’m not allowing myself time to just sit and blog. I’m always on my phone and I HATE trying to type a lot with that tiny keyboard.

So I’ve been doing these six-week challenges where I’m working on one specific training plan. I tend to jump around between training plans a lot when I feel like I’m not getting anywhere. FYI, it’s not a good idea. You wind up having no idea how you’re actually progressing because you keep starting back at square one. Follow-through is good. Follow-through is your friend. This is good life advice, actually. Take it. Use it. Cross-stitch it and frame it.

I started out in the first challenge just trying to stick to one plan. I succeeded, although the incremental distance increases were hard to keep up with – I have mostly been an interval runner, but I want to run a whole 5K without walking. So in weeks 4 & 5 when it’s calling for twenty five minutes of straight running? I ran that long ONCE during the challenge and then, in the following weeks, struggled just to run for ten minutes straight. I was like, HOW AM I SUPPOSED TO DO THIS MORE THAN ONCE.

So in my second challenge, I decided to try to finish the training plan. I deviated for a few weeks to train for a 5K I was running with my aunt (we were planning to run/walk 1 minutes intervals). Then I caught a summer cold, which is the dumbest thing that ever existed. It hit me hard so I didn’t run for, like, a whole week. One day last week I threw my sneakers on and downloaded the next Zombies, Run mission… and I went out and ran for thirty-five minutes straight. I felt incredible. I probably could have run for an hour. I went out slow, probably running like 17-18 minute miles, but for real. I ran two miles and change without stopping. I could cry just typing that, it makes me so happy and proud of myself.

My feet felt great. They didn’t fall asleep. I attribute this to better water intake and shoes with more support. My legs hurt a bit afterwards and the next day, but it wasn’t bad. I only stopped running because I had run a full loop back to my car.

I went out for a run a few days later and ran for 23 minutes.

and again last night, I ran for 34 minutes.

I have a 5K on Monday, and I may actually be able to run the whole thing. I don’t even care what my time is. I’d just like to run the whole thing.

4 thoughts on “Something awesome happened

  1. Congrats! That’s huge. Nothing wrong with taking a walk break, but it feels so good when you don’t need one! Best of luck on your 5K!

  2. I can totally relate to this post! Just did a 5K today, and one last week. Last year I could run that without stopping, but the winter pounded me, so I’m sorta back at square one. So today and last week both had a little walking involved. But I finished! And my time actually improved even with walk breaks (which tells me that my running pace is probably too fast, which is what necessitates the walk breaks in the first place….) Anyway, next week will be a new effort and new chance for success! Glad to meet you!

    • So true about the running pace being too fast! I never realized I was just running too fast; although all the training plans tell you to run slow, they never tell you why! Congrats on your awesome 5K today. Glad to meet you too!

Leave a Reply

