Roxbury Color Fun Run! #runforjoey

I had a really good time at this race! I ran it this past Sunday with my mom and my sister, Wendi. It was their first race and I think we all had a good time! My Aunt Daryl and cousin Kimmie came out to cheer us on (and hold our stuff). They took a ton of really great pictures. There were a ton of high school-aged and younger kids there – the run is a benefit to help families in the area, so it was great to have such a big turn-out.

We made such a fuss about buying white shirts, but they gave us cool race t-shirts to wear. Afterwards we sprayed them with vinegar and ironed them to try to make the color stick.

Before All
Me and Wendi, with a photo-bomb from my mom
10408744_10100674909438119_318345005503424484_n
Wendi is excited for her first event!

Wendi and I did some running, but mostly walking. There were a bunch of people and clearly, no one was racing, so we just kind of enjoyed it and tried to make the most of the color. We had bandanas (a little trick I learned at the official color run) and almost everyone at the color stations remarked that it was very clever. They helped a lot, except at the blue station where the guy was clearly aiming for faces. I wound up with blue eyebrows which I really, really, really liked. All the dye cleaned off very easily, but I purposely left my eyebrows blue. Oh my gosh, the people at the color stations. Like, my shirt was covered in colors from each station, but those people were colored head-to-toe in whatever color they were throwing.

Running
Picture taken by Aunt Daryl
Running 2
Purple dye in the air!

The paved path at the park is only about 1.5 miles, so I think they intended for everyone to go around twice? We didn’t, but it wasn’t timed, so we didn’t really care. Once we got back around to the beginning, the party was going full-blast. My mom caught up with us and we realized she hadn’t gotten ANY COLOR on her. She kept hiding behind other people at the color stations. We had to remedy that. We walked straight to the purple and blue stations and let them pelt her with color. They were out of red dye, but it was still all over the ground, so we gave her red handprints.

Finishing
Crossing what we think was the finish line
After all 1
Fun day!
After all 2
Mom’s Red Handprints

So my sister is much faster than me. She claims it’s harder and hurts more to run slower. She’s so used to running 1 minute intervals, she can afford to speed up because she’ll recover. I just plod along =). I am going to switch gears to run intervals with her in October. That should be fun!

Leave a Reply

