Setting New Goals

Lately I’ve been comparing my life to everyone around me and feeling guilty that I don’t it together. I get all these ideas for house projects on Pinterest. I see all my friends doing fun things and having a blast on Facebook. I know you’re not supposed to compare yourself to others, but ever since we moved into our house, I feel like people are expecting something more of me? and I’m starting to expect more, too, and it’s making me REALLY unhappy. Expectation breeds resentment. I need to start just being happy with myself, not with some better version of me that’s in my mind.

I need to stop comparing myself to others, because I’m just flat-out awesome. I have to stop looking at all the accomplished projects on Pinterest, and all the fun parties and baby pictures on Facebook – I need to put my phone down. I spend way too much time on my phone, and it gets in the way of me actually accomplishing other things. I will only use my phone when I NEED to look something up, or when I’m sitting on a train or in a waiting room or something (or when I want to send a snapchat to someone :)) I will NOT pull out my phone while I’m sitting on the couch, or eating dinner.

It’s been pretty hot out lately & I’m having trouble getting past the first week of my new running program. I’m still stuck in the first world (week 1… ah, video game lingo!) and I am not running consistently enough to keep up the fitness level required to get past the second level. This running program is my new real life videogame and today I’m calling it “Footfall.”  I’m going to start walking or running 1 mile a day depending on weather & other things. Bump up the mileage, keep my legs moving, and keep working towards beating the big baddies.

Strength Training: I’m going to start with some bodyweight training – mostly yoga, but I’ve got an arsenal of workouts. Every day I’ll pick a different one and see where it takes me. Everyday I’ll post what I did.

FOOD TRACKING. This one is hateful to me, so it’s probably pretty important that I try to stick to it. I’ve tried using MFP before and don’t really like spending so much time creating recipes and trying to calculate calories, etc. I know that all the exercise in the world won’t make up for a bad diet, so I need to see what my diet is really like to determine the next step.

I’m aiming to work on each thing EVERY DAY. I’m posting daily at the Nerd Fitness pages, so I’ll try to either post here daily or wrap things up two- three times a week.

3 thoughts on “Setting New Goals

  1. Sounds like good goals! I couldn’t be arsed with MFP either but know I should. It is just the effort of checking everything initially. Good luck with them!

    • I’ve tried to stick to MFP a number of times and usually get sick of it in about three days. It’s hard to get accurate numbers if you’re not tracking specific brands and measurements, etc, so I just give up on it!

  2. Hi Sarah. I like your goals and,yes, forget about what people show on social media – it usually offers a pretty skewed perspective of what’s really going on in people’s lives anyway. Do your own thing, do what makes you happy and enjoy it. Achievable goals, one step at a time and you will get there! 🙂

Leave a Reply

