Upping the mileage

I’ve been working on a 15 K program for a few weeks. I was hoping to run a 10 mile race in October, but I was just notified that their cut-off is 2 1/2 hours, which is way out of my league. I do NOT think I’ll be able to attain that in two months. So, maybe I’ll switch to a 10K program or go back to a 5K program to work on my speed. Bummer… I kind of just wanted a medal! Seriously, why don’t more 5Ks offer medals? Charge me 5$ more, I don’t care – take my money!

My sister and I went for a 3 mile run/ walk last week… it was mostly walking and talking, so I didn’t really care about the time, just getting the mileage in. It was a great day and a great run.

I did 1 mile on the treadmill on Wednesday. Trying to squeeze in more strength workouts. I’ve been logging my food for about two weeks, not trying to cut anything, just looking at my eating habits and trying to figure out where I can make some changes. To be honest, I think I just eat a bit too much. I never used to eat as much food for breakfast and lunch as some nutrition plans or recipes call for, so I’m going to sit down tonight, look over my log. I think I’m going to start eating when I’m hungry and not eating for flavor. Good luck with that, amirite?

I’m also starting some new medication and I’m a little anxious to see how it’s going to affect my body – will I gain weight? I started it today, and obviously, it’s too soon to tell if there are any changes. I guess we’ll have to wait and see.

3 thoughts on “Upping the mileage

    • Advice from you is always welcome! and it’s good advice too – I’ve been throwing a lot of walking in to keep the mileage up but to not tire out too quickly.

Leave a Reply

