First Steps

Hello friends! Hiatus over…maybe?

I’ve been working out once a week or so for the past three weeks, trying to find the will/energy to get back in shape. In the few months I’ve been wallowing in my own misery, I’ve gained something like thirty pounds and gone up another pants size. Yup. Time for a change. Especially since Facebook showed me a picture of myself from five years ago, and I’m looking at this skinny chick, and I’m sure that I thought I was fat then. I would give anything to be that comfortable in my skin again.

So, for starters, I need to make small changes. I don’t think I’m going to try to jump right back to running, or at least, add more strength training, cut down on the cardio – can’t stress my body out too much, and I certainly can’t expect to pick up where I left off. For now, I’ll be trying to do something every day and, one day each week, I’ll only drink water.

For the first two weeks, I’m going to go for a walk every day. I’d like to do a mile a day, but I’m not sure I’ll be able to track my distance all the time. I’ve also got some bodyweight workouts, videos, etc and I will do something every day, even if it’s for no more than fifteen minutes, I just need to start a habit again.  So much of working out and staying fit is mental, so much of it… I should probably start by taking on the mental challenge. Fake it ’til you make it.

I WILL walk every day. I WILL do some strength workout every day. I WILL drink only water on Wednesdays. I’ll be back later tonight to track my progress, fill in one more day on my battle log.

Leave a Reply

